The Inside Habit



Review: The Possibilities of Sainthood by Donna Freitas

the-possibilities-of-sainthoodYet another book-by-cover pick from me. I looked the name, loved the cover! Here is a blurb on the book:

Antonia Lucia Labella has two secrets: at fifteen, she’s still waiting for her first kiss, and she wants to be a saint. An official one. Seem strange? Well, to Antonia, saints are royalty, and she wants her chance at being a princess. All her life she’s kept company with these kings and queens of small favors, knowing exactly whom to pray to on every occasion. Unfortunately, the two events Antonia’s prayed for seem equally unlikely to happen. It’s not for lack of trying. For how long has she been hoping to gain the attention of the love of her life – the tall, dark, and so good-looking Andy Rotellini? Too long to mention. And every month for the last eight years, Antonia has sent a petition to the Vatican proposing a new patron saint and bravely offering herself for the post. So what if she’s not dead?

But as Antonia learns, in matters of the heart and sainthood, things are about as straightforward as wound-up linguini, and sometimes you need to recognize the signs.

Firstly, this book reminded me of Looking for Alibrandi. Anybody else read that sometime in high school? No? Yes? Just us, Aussies? Well, anyway… I really liked it. Antonia’s voice was interesting, held my attention all the way to the end. And her letters to the Vatican? Um, yeah, I totally agree! The minute I come up with something to be a saint of , I am writing my own letters too.

Fun (and funny) read. Recommended.

Rating: 4/5 (Amazon; Barnes & Nobles; Chapters)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Natalie says:

    Hello 🙂 I just clicked over here from Sarah’s blog. ‘The Possibilities of Sainthood’ has been on my reading list for awhile now. I’ll have to move it on up a bit! I also noticed you were reading Cassandra Clare. Fortunately, I didn’t read City of Bones until the final in the trilogy was only weeks from being out. Else I would have gone bonkers waiting for the finale! 🙂 I think Clary Fray is a fabulous character. CC’s an incredible writer. I read her next trilogy was set in the victorian era – same theme, just different people and time. I think maybe Magnus Bane is in the series and that’s it. I’m excited to read it!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

