The Inside Habit



Pretty Face by Mary Hogan

PrettyFace The blurb:

That’s what I am. A funny girl. A friend. Nobody’s girlfriend. The girl with the pretty face.
Hayley wishes she could love living in Santa Monica, blocks from the beach, where every day—and everybody—is beautiful and sunny. But she just doesn’t fit in with all the blond, superskinny Southern California girls who have their plastic surgeons on speed dial. Hayley is smart and witty and has such a pretty . . . face. Translation: Don’t even think about putting on a bikini, much less dating superhot Drew Wyler. A bikini will never be flattering, and Drew will never think of her as more than a friend.

Just when Hayley feels doomed to live her life in the fat lane, her parents decide to send her to Italy for the summer—not for school, not for fat camp, just for fun. It’s there, under the Italian sun, that Hayley’s vision of herself starts to change. She’s curvy, not fat. Pizza isn’t evil. And life is so much more than one-size-fits-all. Who knows? Once Hayley sees herself in a new light, maybe the girl with the pretty face will finally find true amore.

I’ve had this book forever but it took me so long to read. I have to admit, I was drawn to the cover – all the fun and pretty colors and whatnot. So I picked it up and having finally finished it, I have to say that it wasn’t bad. Hayley was a zany little character (not unlike myself) and I loved her comebacks. I almost want to say that it was a quick fun read but… thanks to my procrastination and other such nonsense, not very quick.

Thus, it was a fun light read. Realistic ending. I know this sounds crazy but I almost would have liked to have heard the story from her best, Jackie’s, point of view. It just seemed like it would have been so much more interesting that way. Hayley was the typical insecure-about-her-body type and you could predict that she would go off to Italy and “find herself”. Heck, it was even written on the cover. Still fun to read (even if I knew how it would end).

Grade: 3/5

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sarah says:

    Great review! I like the cover too. Even in the way her feet cross, you can tell that she’s insecure.

    Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Alex says:

    I liked this book, i read it in one night. When i read it though i feel resentful to Hayley. She had the typical amazing summer you expected from the beginning fell in love, the whole nine yards. But I feel like i can relate to Jackie mostly because she was the friend left behind. Last summer my best friend, left for a six week trip to Greece. She fell in love with a boy too. When she came back home, she always wished she was there right now. I still feel really jealous of her and I felt left out that she came back, just like Hayley to the united states with all this boy experience. I guess all I’m saying is I can relate to how Jackie felt, but I was happy that Hayley had such a good summer. On a scale of 1 to 10 I’d give it a 6. Only a 6 because I think Haley and Enzo fell in love too quickly without much emotions.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

